1000 People Critiqued My Music, Here’s What They Had To Say


You can never get better at anything if you don’t listen to your critics. Some success speakers say that you should use your opponents as the motivation to try harder. My Afghan critics have dubbed me as the “Lady GaGa” of Afghanistan – I take that as an honor that Afghan critics (haters, really!) think so highly of me 😉

I finally went ahead and took the plunge to give a taste of my #EDMA – Electronic Dance Music Afghanistan – to the sharks. In a survey of 1000 unique listeners, the overall response to my music is generally positive but still far from where I’d like to go so hopefully the next album which is due out in 2016 will give it the kick I’m looking for.

DJ’s from around the world have been taking note of my music on Instagram lately and learning from the release of the ‘Afghan Provocateur‘, I have tripled the marketing budget for the next album. By the end of 2015, my website will be updated with more information on the new album.  For now, use the #EDMA hashtag on Instagram and Twitter to join in the fun and get the young Afghan listeners a taste of their very own Afghanistan-exported EDM. Fuck yeah!

Below, you’ll see the results of the survey of 1000 unique listeners of Electronic Dance Music (EDM) who’ve had the chance to listen and critique my music on several aspects: overall likelihood of the song being played in nightclubs, demographics, and the theme of each track. In case you haven’t heard any of these songs yet, you can check them out on my SoundCloud channel.

EDMA

Track 1 – Juice

When I was producing ‘Juice’ early on in 2014, the type of music I had in my mind was a track that could be played in massive music festivals like Tommorowland, Sensation and Ultra Music Festival. I was very happy with the end product but something was missing. After listening to it over and over again, I added a very heavy bass that – if played loudly – would send the sound waves through your body, straight to the pulsing beats of your heart and get your mind into the groove.

Here’s what the critics had to say:

Juice General Rating Juice Listener Sentiment 01 02 03 04 05 Juice Demographics Juice Free Response

Track 2 – Basement Dance Floor

Initially titled ‘Bang the Basement Dance Floor’, I changed it to ‘Basement Dance Floor’ because the name was too long and didn’t go with the flow in the album’s final track-listing. Was I happy with the final cut? Oh YES! This was probably the one song I was counting on to get the listener’s attention and make everyone want to dance, even if they didn’t feel like it. The critics may not have given it the best rating but I put in my best efforts when working on it in the studio. The YouTube video was not promoted as much as the Facebook video was.

BDF General RatingBDF Listener Sentiment 01 02 03 04 05
BDF Demographics BDF Free Response

Track 3 – Agent Provocateur

The title track ‘Agent Provocateur’ took the least time amongst these three tracks in production. Once I go to the catchy hook, I decided to keep it repetitive throughout the track. The track, in its current state, is club-and-remix ready for DJ’s.

AP General Rating AP Listener Sentiment 01 02 03 04 05 AP Demographics AP Free Response

2 thoughts on “1000 People Critiqued My Music, Here’s What They Had To Say

Leave a Reply

